On June 22nd the White House issued a new proclamation extending the April 2020  Executive Order through December 31, 2020 and expanding it to also suspend the entry of H-1B, H-4, H-2B, J-1, L-1 and L-2 visa holders who are currently outside the United States and do not have a nonimmigrant visa that is valid on the effective date of this proclamation..

The order suspends processing of new visa stamps (folios) at consulates or embassies once they re-open to the public.

This Executive Order does not apply to:

  • Applications for benefits filed inside the US for extensions or changes of status to H-1B/L-1 petitions through USCIS

  • O-1A/B visas

  • E-3/TN/H-1B1/E-2 and other Temporary Visas

  • F-1 Students, OPT, STEM OPT

  • J-1 Students, Scholars, Short-Term Scholars, Specialists, Trainees and Professors

  • Any application filed with USCIS from tourist visa extensions to legal permanent residence

At this time, Canadian citizens who are visa exempt do not seem to be impacted by this order. In addition, it is unclear whether individuals filing for visa extensions overseas will be part of the exceptions listed in the EO. Finally, DHS/DOS/ HHS have been directed to create rules around exceptions of the ban based on factors of national interest.  We will continue to update our community as we learn more.

Read the full Executive Order here.